Easy Apple Dumplings

20120926-140923.jpg

First project: Apple Dumplings.

I wanted to make these last night, but my mother dismissed the idea. We have apple trees in our yard, so we have lots of apples. Mom usually makes pounds and pounds of apple crisp, which I do love, but I want to try different things! When I was in grad school, I fell in love with the Pillsbury website. When couponing, it is very easy to get the grands and crescent rolls really cheap. And the site has many different ideas for usage.

Apple Dumplings

Here is what it called for:

1 (16.3-oz.) can Pillsbury® Grands!® Refrigerated Buttermilk Biscuits
8 teaspoons butter or margarine
4 small to medium Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and halved
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup butter or margarine, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Of course, we didn’t have cinnamon so I had to use cinnamon sugar. I also used less butter inside on the apples. To roll out the biscuits, I just used my palm and pressed them a few times.  They are pretty tough to take the stretching. I preheated the oven @350 and baked them for 37 mins.

They are very soft, but don’t have as much flavor as i was hoping for. Maybe a more crisp apple would have given more flavor and oh yeah, cinnamon and not cinnamon sugar. Would be willing to try again with those two differences.

Mom said she liked them but ‘They are not Apple Dumplings”. Apparently they taste more like turnovers.

Leave a Reply

